The African Centre of Excellence for Studies in Public and Non-motorised Transport (ACET)


The following research centres, all based at African universities, are ACET’s partner institutions:


Centre for Transport Studies
University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa


Department of Transportation and Geotechnical Engineering
University of Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania


Institute for Development Studies
University of Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya


ACET is a Centre of Excellence (CoE) funded by the Future Urban Transport (FUT) programme of the Volvo Research and Educational Foundations (VREF). Through the FUT programme VREF supports a number of CoEs around the world that focus on the development and implementation of urban transport solutions.


ACET’s research efforts target challenges to urban transport planning and provision in Africa. Our principal focus is on the case cities of Cape Town, Dar es Salaam and Nairobi, but through our research we aim to contribute to knowledge that is relevant to the broader regional, national and international contexts.

Our research programme is focused in two main areas. The first focus area is public transport and paratransit. African cities have experienced decline in scheduled public transport, and the emergence of unregulated, unscheduled and unsafe paratransit. A major challenge facing authorities is the transformation of these services into integrated, regulated, safe and efficient systems. Many previous attempts to do this have been developed without sufficiently grounded knowledge of ‘real world’ business, operating and regulatory conditions, and of governance capacities.

Start Year: 

Message from the Director


Community Outreach

Contact Us

Inquiries should be addressed to:

The Institute for Development Studies
University of Nairobi

P.O. Box 30197
Nairobi, Kenya.

Directors Address
Tel : 254 -020 -318262 Ext 28177 or

Cell phone : 254-772 114655


Media Center

Facebook Fan Page


UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2018. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi