Masters in Development Studies (MDev)

  • The programme will consist of full-time study by coursework, examination, research project paper or thesis extending over two academic years.
  • The classes are run during the day, Monday to Friday. There are no evening classes at the moment.
  • In the first year (Part I) all students will be required to take and pass a total of eight courses 5 of which will be compulsory and 3 will be electives. Four compulsory courses will be common for all students while the fifth one will be the compulsory unit in the module selected.
  • Each student will be required to select one of the following five-course modules:
    • Technology and Natural Resource Management
    • Development and Change in African Societies
    • Human Resource Development
    • International Development
    • Planning for Development
  • The student will be required to select three electives from any course module in order to fulfil the requirement of eight courses.
  • The Second Year Part (II):
    • Students proceeding to Second Year (Part II) will either opt for a research project paper or a thesis.
    • Students opting for a research project paper will take in the first semester, four courses related to the area of research participants in a field-based research project, and in the second semester write and present a research project report for the examination.
    • Students opting for a thesis will devote the entire second year to research, thesis preparation, and presentation for examination.

Course Code Course Name Course Hours=60 

CDS 631  Issues In International Development 

CDS 632  Global Institutions And Development 

CDS 633  Politics Of Alternative Development Strategies

CDS 634  Development And Regional Integration

CDS 635  Political Economy Of International Commodity Markets

CDS 642  Computer Applications To Development Planning

CDS 643  Agricultural Planning And Food Security

CDS 644  Industrial Planning

CDS 645  Human Resources Planning

Semester: 2

Course CodeCourse NameCourse Hours 

CDS 624  Education And Development

CDS 625  Nutrition And Development

Level : 1

Semester: 1

Course Code Course Name Course Hours=60 

CDS 501  Development Management Theory

CDS 502  Development Management Practice

CDS 503  Research Foundations

CDS 602  Energy Policy And Planning And Development

Semester: 2

Course CodeCourse NameCourse Hours 

CDS 504  Research Methods And Computer Applications

CDS 603  Science, Technology, And Policy

CDS 612  Issues In Urban Development

CDS 614  Entrepreneurship And Development

Semester: 3

Course Code Course Name Course Hours= 60 

CDS 601  Natural Resource And Environmental Management

CDS 604  Political Economy Of Industrialization

CDS 605  Comparative Industrial Strategies

CDS 611  Rural Societies And Change

CDS 613  Rural-urban Linkages

CDS 615  Economics Of African Agriculture

CDS 621  Issues In Human Resource Development

CDS 622  Health And Development

CDS 623  Population And Development

To be eligible for registration for the Master of Arts in Development Studies degree, one should be:

i)      A holder of at least an upper-second bachelor’s degree from the University of Nairobi in any discipline;

ii)     A holder of an equivalent degree or an equivalent qualification recognized by the University of Nairobi Senate to be of comparable academic status.

Job markets linkages - our graduates mostly work in Civil Society Organizations, Public Sector and Development Partners as:-

  1. Program Officers
  2. Monitoring & Evaluation Experts
  3. Development Analysts
  4. Project Managers
  5. Business Development Officers
  6. Community Development Officer
  7. Researchers / Consultants
  8. Academic Professions

Current Fee Guidelines

Application fee of Kshs 4,000 (non-citizens 50 US Dollars)

Year 1 Kshs 134,000

Year 2 Kshs 131,000

Foreign students pay the stated fees and additional 25%.

Note that for the Masters program: Foreign students (non-citizens) from outside the partner states of the Northern Corridor Integration Project (Republics of Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda and South Sudan) to add 25% on all charges.