IDS Prize Winners


James Tobin – Winner Nobel Prize in Economics (1981)



The former Sterling Professor of Economics at Yale University, was at IDS in 1972/1973. He received a Ph.D. in economics from Harvard in 1947. In 1955 the American Economic Association awarded him the John Bates Clark Medal, given to one economist under age 40. He was a member of the National Academy of Sciences since 1972. In 1981 he received the Noble  Prize in Economic Science.




Joseph Stiglitz – Winner of Nobel Prize in Economics (2001)

Joseph Stiglitz is professor of economics at Columbia University . He was Associate Professor at IDS in 1973/1974. His most recent book, co-authored with Linda Bilmes, is The Three Trillion Dollar War: The True Costs of the Iraq Conflict. He was the recipient of the 2001 Nobel Prize in economics.



Michael Todaro –The development economist who authored the Todaro Migration


James S. Coleman



Prof. Charles Okidi

Prof. Charles Okidi is currently the Chairman of Karatina University Council.  He is the first African recipient of the Elizabeth Haub Prize in Environmental Law (1984), the highest Global award in environmental law. He was listed in the 1997 Who is Who and Does What in Environment and Conservation.

Message from the Director


Community Outreach

Contact Us

Inquiries should be addressed to:

The Institute for Development Studies
University of Nairobi

P.O. Box 30197
Nairobi, Kenya.

Directors Address
Tel : 254 -020 -318262 Ext 28177 or

Cell phone : 254-772 114655


Media Center

Facebook Fan Page


UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2019. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi